Unisex Clothing Changing the Industry

For as long as I can remember, the fashion industry has prominently been represented by female models. Earlier this year, Louis Vuitton turned heads when they announced that Jaden Smith would be the new face of the Spring and Summer 2016 collections of the company.

Jaden Smith worked with three other female models to showcase handbags and clothing from the line. The commercial below, created by Bruce Weber, uses interesting film techniques to show off the new line. Although I do think the commercial is great, I think that they could have done a better job showing more of Jaden Smith in the clothing.

Video Source

I already saw Jaden Smith as someone who broke social barriers and freely expressed himself among social media.While many people I know saw his strange outfit choices as something extremely weird and out of the ordinary, I think he is bold for creating a personal brand that is different than any other of his generation. I love to see that Jaden Smith is challenging gender norms within the fashion industry.

From a PR standpoint, I think that this is a bold, yet great, move for Louis Vuitton to make. I think it is a step in the right direction for a high-end fashion line to promote unisex fashion. The campaign initially sparked a lot of buzz from a variety of sources. Since this is seen as a controversial move, it can generate publicity for the company.

I am excited to see more advertisements from Louis Vuitton and Bruce Weber as the season approaches. I think that there will be more publicity as more marketing comes from the company. I am also very curious to see if more companies in general will be leaning towards creating more unisex fashion.

What do you think about Louis Vuitton’s choice to use a male celebrity for a female clothing line? Let me know in the comments below.

The New York Times Jaden Smith for Louis Vuitton: The New Man in a Skirt 

Leave a Reply

